Founded 1839 on divide between Red and Sulpher Rivers; became
seat of Lamar County 1844; settled by diverse frontier society
including Sam Bell Maxey, West Point graduate, attorney and Confederate
General. Retired outlaw Frank James (brother of Jesse) clerked
in a local dry goods store. Home of John Chisum, who became one
of the West's foremost cattle barons. Notorious frontier outlaw
queen, Belle Starr, tended a farm near town.
The Paris Visitors and Convention Council at 1651 Clarksville
St. will provide walking and driving tour maps that include some
34 points of interest, including the 1920's downtown architecture
and historic sites.
Today a commercial/marketing center for fertile agricultural region;
home of Paris Junior College.
- A.M. AND WELMA AIKIN ARCHIVES-Replica of Senator Aikin's
Austin office; mementos of his 46 year career, much of which was
devoted to Texas education; also historical archives for Delta,
Fannin, Lamar, and Red River Counties. Open Mon.-Thurs. 8 a.m.-5
p.m.; Fri. 8 a.m.-noon. In Mike Rheudasil Learning Center, Paris
- EVERGREEN CEMETERY-Dating from 1866, large cemetery
contains more than 40,000 graves, including many early Texas patriots.
Many unusual, handsome carved headstones and monuments. S. Church
St. at Jefferson Rd.
- HAYDEN MUSEUM OF AMERICAN ART-Four galleries, the largest
of which houses permanent collection of graphic art, archival
photography, and American chairs. Southwest Gallery has Native
American emphasis, and other galleries are for changing exhibitions.
Open Tues. at 7 p.m.; Wed., Sat., Sun. at 1:30 p.m. 930 Cardinal
- SAM BELL MAXEY STATE HISTORICAL STRUCTURE-Gem of Victorian
architecture built by Confederate General Maxey 1868, occupied
by family for almost a century. Restored and furnished as state
historic site. Maxeys were avid gardeners; restoration includes
landscaped grounds and small Victorian garden in original dimensions.
Guided tours; open Wed.-Sun. 10 a.m.-5 p.m. 812 S. Church St.;
Back to Main | Advertiser's Index
| City Index