General.. The population is 2,014 and the Alt. is 21

First permanent settlement in 1821 when Spanish fortress, established there, was made port of entry for American colonists. Origin of name uncertain; perhaps derived from pre-Aztec Nawatlan tribes, or a later Indian word. Today the seat of Chambers County; serves rice, cattle, seafood, and oil-producing area. Named Alligator Capital of Texas in 1989 by Texas Legislature; boasts more alligators than people. Home of Texas Gatorfest, staged two days each September in Fort Anahuac Park during alligator hunting season.


- More than 40 species of birds rest in 24,536 acre marshland on East Bay, about 18 miles southeast. Managed primarily for wintering and migrating waterfowl, the threatened American alligator is also found. Bird checklist has 253 species listed - extra large number because birds flying north across the Gulf of Mexico are eager for first resting place on land. Refuge activities include wildlife observation, birding, photography, waterfowl hunting, fishing, and crabbing. Overnight camping limited both in duration and location. Contact refuge headquarters for directions or information. 409-267-3337 or write P.O. Box 278, Anahuac, Texas 77514.


General history; exhibits of local and pioneer history, archaeology. Open Mon. to Fri. from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Courthouse Annex. 409-267-8363.


-Some traces remain of Fort Anahuac, combination Mexican fort and customhouse on Galveston Bay near the mouth of the Trinity River; built about 1831 by prisoners of Mexican government in one of preliminary battles of the Texas Revolution. The fort was captured by William B. Travis, later commander of the Alamo Park offers picnicking, camping, and rest rooms. Also a boat ramp. Located at 5 Main Street on Trinity Bay.